Wharf to Wharf race

First of all- I don’t run. I love long walks, but I’ve never been able to run very far, and I don’t find anything enjoyable about it. But lots of other people love to run, and every year one of the big summer events here is the Wharf to Wharf race. 16,000 entered it this year. Registration filled up in 19 hours. It starts by the Santa Cruz wharf and goes to the Capitola wharf, mostly near the ocean. Every year, I get a cup of coffee and walk to the end of 41st Ave where it meets East Cliff Dr. and wait for the action to start. Why there? Because that’s where the Blue and Red Circus Band plays. There are bands all along the route, but this is the one I like. A couple minutes after I got there, they started playing ‘Stars and Stripes Forever’.

 

The Blue and Red Circus Band

The Blue and Red Circus Band

The race starts at 8:30, and this location is just before the 5-mile mark, so I get there about 8:45. At about 8:50, a truck goes by, indicating that the first runners aren’t far behind.

Official vehicles signaling the first runners aren't far behind.

Official vehicles signaling the first runners aren’t far behind.

Next come the motor cycle riding police or sheriffs.

P1030078

They are followed by the big truck.

P1030079

 

The small van behind the truck has the back open and someone inside filming the lead racer. And finally we get to see him:

The man who won the race a few minutes later.

The man who won the race a few minutes later.

He is Simon Ndirangu of Kenya. The winners are nearly always from Kenya or Ethiopia. Some years it’s not clear at the 5-mile mark just who is going to win, but Simon had a sizable lead. Often, the next several runners are also Africans, but we got a surprise this year. Second place went to Scott Bauhs of San Luis Obispo.

P1030081

Here’s Scott followed by Ben Bruce of Arizona, and Nelson Oyugi of Kenya. Last year, Nelson won, Ben was 5th and Scott was 9th. Here are pictures of Ben and Nelson as they passed by the band:

P1030082

 

 

After these leaders, runners start coming along in multiples, and women are among them.

P1030086

 

She is Caroline Rotich of Kenya, fastest woman, and 13th place overall. Just three places behind her was Aliphine Tuliamuk-Bolton of Kenya:

P1030087

As the crowds start coming it becomes a sea of bobbing heads:

 

 

P1030090P1030093And pretty soon the costumes start coming, and I start walking down to Pleasure Point.

There were a number of people in tutus advertising instaGift.com

There were a number of people in tutus advertising instaGift.com

 

It worked- I looked up the website when I got home, but doubt I would ever use their products.

It worked- I looked up the website when I got home, but doubt I would ever use their products.

Cute hats

Cute hats

A Viking hat across the street

A Viking 

P1030101

Hula ladies

Runners and walkers as far as I can see.

Runners and walkers as far as I can see.

The view on the other side of the fence.

The view on the other side of the fence.

P1030104

 

I found Waldo. (Actually, this is the second Waldo I found). I can go back home now.

 

 

About Jill Perry

Since 2005, I have been the Curator of the San Jose Heritage Rose Garden, a part of Guadalupe River Parks and Gardens near downtown San Jose. I write about the Heritage Rose Garden, my garden and my travels when I feel inspired and have time. Since I have no regular schedule, if you'd like to know when I write a new article, please subscribe to this blog.
This entry was posted in Local and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wharf to Wharf race

  1. Jeri Jennings says:

    Great post, Jill! Great pix, too!

    *Jeri Jennings *heritageroses@gmail.com NorthStar Dalmatians Since 1971

    Gold Coast Heritage Roses Group: http://www.goldcoastrose.org The Heritage Roses Group (Nat’l) http://www.theheritagerosesgroup.org/

    *”One of the advantages of being disorganized is that one is always having surprising discoveries.” *– A.A. Milne

  2. Judy Belden says:

    Very nice, Jill! And really good pictures!

Leave a Reply

