Inventory and Garden Mysteries – Part 2, Section P

Masha is responsible for bringing these next two mysteries to my attention. She mentioned that the rose labeled ‘Césonie’ looked just like “The Portland From Glendora”. I did some research on ‘Césonie’, and not much is known about it. Furthermore, the plant had been reported as dead some years back. That was at a time when there were very few plant labels, so it could have been a nearby plant that had died, or the plaque could have been placed incorrectly. The answer soon became obvious. The next plant label was for “Sheep Ranch Glendora”, a rather weak plant, and the next few roses weren’t labeled at all. ‘Césonie’ and the plant on the other side, ‘Sidonie’, are both quite large. What had happened was that ‘Césonie’ died and the roses on either side of it had grown to hide the space between them. “Sheep Ranch Glendora” is a study name meaning,”the rose found in Sheep Ranch that looks just like “The Portland From Glendora”.  I removed the ‘Césonie’ plaque, moved the “Sheep Ranch Glendora” plaque over one place, and  made notes about the next few unlabeled roses so we can get the correct labels there.

 

The Portland from Glendora

The Portland from Glendora

Masha asked me for a sucker from ‘Mons. de Montigny’. Again I was sure there was something wrong with the plaque. This rose was labeled a Hybrid Perpetual, and was clearly some hybrid of a Gallica rose. Pure Gallicas don’t survive very long at the Heritage because they need a colder winter, and this was surviving very well, so I knew it must be a Hybrid Gallica of some kind, probably with a China. It was grafted, but the bud union had been buried, and the plant had sent out its own roots which were suckering around the plant. I happily allowed Masha to remove some of the excess suckers, and when I went home I did some research. As the rose had come to us from Ashdown Roses around 10 years ago, I asked Paul If he knew what it was, and referred him to pictures Masha had posted of it. He and Trish recalled having received a ‘Mons. de Montigny’ that was mislabeled, and turned out to be ‘The Shell Rose’. We used to also have a plant of that, but it died, so I can’t do a direct comparison. When I compared our “Not Mons. de Montigny” to ‘The Shell Rose’ on helpmefind.com, the form looked like a pretty good fit, but the color in Masha’s pictures was blotchy. Perhaps that was only a product of the weather- the blooms in her photos had raindrops on them. So I forwarded Paul’s comments to Masha to see what she thought. It turns out the color mottling is what she finds so attractive in the rose, so clearly it’s not just from the rain. I’ve added it to my list of roses to look at next spring when they are in bloom. In the meantime we gave it a study name, “HRG Mottled Hybrid Gallica”, and you can see Masha’s pictures of it here:

http://www.helpmefind.com/gardening/l.php?l=2.64050.0&tab=1

I want to add a plug here- helpmefind.com is an invaluable resource to all of us who are trying to sort out the mysteries of found and mislabeled roses. They need membership money to keep the site running. If you use this resource, or just want to help those of us who do, please support it by becoming a member.

About Jill Perry

Since 2005, I have been the Curator of the San Jose Heritage Rose Garden, a part of Guadalupe River Parks and Gardens near downtown San Jose. I write about the Heritage Rose Garden, my garden and my travels when I feel inspired and have time. Since I have no regular schedule, if you'd like to know when I write a new article, please subscribe to this blog.
This entry was posted in San Jose Heritage Rose Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inventory and Garden Mysteries – Part 2, Section P

  1. Janelle says:

    Check out Boule de Nanteuil on HMF. I took a photo of it in England. Tagged you in the photo on Facebook that I took.

Leave a Reply

