Finding Roses in theSierra Nevada foothills – part 3

On Saturday, we headed north. First stop- Railroad Flat. At the Wells house, there was a pink HT/HP and two plants of a pernetiana. Across the street, Lois let us into her yard to see her hybrid perpetuals. There were several that looked like slight variations on Baronne Prevost, and a smaller, darker one which I found interesting.

Wells House Pink HT/HP

The Wells House Pink HT/HP

Lois' hybrid perpetual

small hybrid perpetual

We continued north to West point, where we chatted with a woman who lived in a Victorian house. Lining the front walk were several plants of Paul Neyron, with its enormous flowers. In the side yard was a free-standing mound of De la Grifferie. Where I live, it grows quite tall, but West Point has much colder winters, which may be why it is more compact.

We drove on to Volcano, where we had lunch at the St George. I have great fondness for that establishment. Many years ago I was working on my Master’s in geology, centered in that area, and had a beer after work every night the bar was open. Later, my husband and I spent part of our honeymoon there.

After lunch, we drove to Sutter Creek, with a  stop to show Judy where there was a very interesting rock formation so she and her family can visit it sometime. The rocks there are folded around due to being wedged between two ancient faults.

Plymouth Cemetery was the next stop. I discovered the roses there a few years ago and have several planted or awaiting planting at the Heritage Rose Garden now. But one plant had been cut down at that time, are there were several I had missed on that visit.  I was able to collect all of the others this time.  Judy also showed me a tea rose growing on a fence near an apartment complex in town.

On to Fiddletown. I was surprised to find a climbing tea-noisette there, as we have several old roses collected in Fiddletown, but not this one. My best guess for its identity is Celine Forestier.

Fiddletown tea-noisette

Exhaustion was setting in at this point, and we headed back south, but stopped in Mokelumne Hill to look at the yellow tea rose on Main St. It wasn’t in bloom, but the owner offered to let us take cuttings. It’s not an easy rose to root, so I took a couple cuttings, and crossed my fingers.

Part 4: http://wp.me/pTIYy-W

About Jill Perry

Since 2005, I have been the Curator of the San Jose Heritage Rose Garden, a part of Guadalupe River Parks and Gardens near downtown San Jose. I write about the Heritage Rose Garden, my garden and my travels when I feel inspired and have time. Since I have no regular schedule, if you'd like to know when I write a new article, please subscribe to this blog.
This entry was posted in Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

